Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Wood Shear Walls 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

CrabbyT

Structural
Feb 12, 2019
US
I'd like to have a deeper understanding of wood-frame shear walls. For context, I'm in the USA and have access to the 2015 AWC NDS and SDPWS. My background is in steel/concrete design, but lately I've been dabbling in wood design.

[li]After calculating forces, where do you usually start when designing a shear wall?[/li]
[li]Does anyone here know of any helpful resources (example problems, design guides, etc) for designing wood-frame shear walls?[/li]
[li]Are there any software packages you would recommend? Any you wouldn't?[/li]
[li]Would anyone be willing to share a set of drawings showing how one would typically call out hold downs, straps, nail patterns, and etc?[/li]

In terms of software, I've tried RISA 3D and it seems pretty nice (I like that it does multiple checks on the wall including axial checks). Woodworks Shearwalls looks pretty good too, but I haven't tried it. At any rate, I'd really like to know what I'm doing before going the garbage in/garbage out software route.

Tables 4.3A - D in the SDPWS seem simple enough, although I wish they included some pictures (I'm a little confused about the nail pattern - is "panel edge fastener spacing" the only fastener spacing that matters? Does the nail spacing to the studs not matter at all?). I'm also a little confused on how the sheathing material works. Say I have 15/32" sheathing on the exterior side of a wall and 1/2" gypsum board on the interior side. Do I just add those capacities together? Am I missing something?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

The edge nailing is the nailing to studs around the Perimeter of the individual shear panels. The 'field' nailing is the spacing of nails to all other studs in contact with the shear panel.

Easily understood by pictures I agree so here is my typical sw det.

sw_detail_s1gwlb.png