Working abroad (and long term travelling) 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

jd90

Mechanical
Apr 6, 2015
GB
Hi everyone,

I am currently a student but will be graduating this summer. I hope to save up enough money to be able to go travelling in a couple of years. Whilst I would like to travel for a year or so I am also exploring the option of living abroad and potentially living and travelling long term.

I study mechanical engineering and as I'm sure everyone here knows engineers have a vast range of skills, however I would like to ask if anyone knows if there are specific niches or areas that are most sought after in the international job market? (I'm in the UK). I know some people freelance when travelling / living abroad but I don't know how realistic this is early in my career.

Or...any general advice or suggestions would be appreciated.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Can't see it myself. In my opinion you are going to have to decide whether you want to focus on establishing a career or if travel is that imoprtant to you , to be willing to conciously sacrifice your career advancement. All that cr*p about "travel broadens the mind" is spouted by persons who are not senior engineers or engineering managers. Go travel for two years and when you are ready to start seeking your first entry level job , you are essentially competing with every other engineer who graduated in the last 36 months who hasn't yet found employment. Other than flipping burgers or labouring, what do you think you have to offer an employer while you're travelling. Do you really think someone will train you , knowing you will move on within sfew months.

I disagree with miningman - you wont be "sacrificing" your career by taking say half or a full year travelling after graduating. Even HR people will be able to look through this, and some may even consider it a plus that you have "been around the world".