Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Working for one company after graduation (for about 30 years) vs changing jobs every 3-5 years ?? 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

youngEngineer818

Mechanical
Feb 24, 2015
US
Hello All,
I am a recent graduate who started working as a mechanical engineer in a pressure vessel manufacturing company. Its been about a year now and about a week ago, I noticed two people retired. They worked at this company for 35 years. Now, I am thinking If I should stay at this company, work my a$$ off and get a higher position in the company and get big raise OR I should change the company after 3 years. Because most people say if you want a big raise in salary (my initial is too low according to the research I did online for new graduate engineers). My question is: would you stay at one company or switch jobs? what are the advantages of what you would do? Will I get big raise If I work super hard and know the products at this company?

Thanks
New Engineer

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

"Will I get big raise If I work super hard and know the products at this company?" Not automatically.

Every big jump in pay has been when I changed jobs, most spectacularly when I left one job, worked elsewhere for 3 1/2 years, and came back to my old desk at my old job for a 60% pay rise compared with when I left.

On the other hand, if you hang around long enough at a company and you are any good you will drift upwards in seniority and into management in a fairly painless fashion if that is your desire.

Cheers

Greg Locock

New here? Try reading these, they might help FAQ731-376