Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Working in Australia 4

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alekk

Structural
Oct 14, 2003
IT

Hi everybody, I'm a structural engineer with 2 years experience, most of all in bridge engineering, who would like to work in Australia. Does anybody know how much they pay ?

Thanks

Ale

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

About 40-55000 $A pa, at a guess, perhaps a little more. Taxes are ridiculously high, living costs, except house prices, are low.

A Level 3 would be on about 80k package round here, I don't know what a Level 1 would be on.

Cheers

Greg Locock

Please see FAQ731-376 for tips on how to make the best use of Eng-Tips.

Thanks a lot, Greg.
Just another questions: what do you mean by " taxes are ridiculously high"? 35-40%? What about health insurance?

Thanks

Ale

We have, for a youngster, a perfectly good national health system, so you don't need additional health insurance. I'm 45 and for various reasons the government makes it worth my while to pay for basic hospital cover, which is about 50 bucks a month.

Tax rates are OK if you earn less than 63000, after that they ramp up

Annual Taxable Income............... Tax

$0 - $6000 .................. Nil

$6001 - $21600 ........... Nil plus 15c for each $ over $6000

$21601 - $63000.......... $2340 plus 30c for each $ over $21600

$63001 - $95000.......... $14760 plus 42c for each $ over $63000

$95001 and over ......... $28200 plus 47c for each $ over $95000.

Plus about 1.5% for your health cover.

In addition we pay a 10% sales tax, and some other things of little interest. There's no state level income taxes.

Cheers

Greg Locock