Working in California as Geotechnical Engineer

Status
Not open for further replies.

Geo Cal

Geotechnical
Aug 3, 2019
HK
Dear my friends,

I am Chinese with 22 years experience of Slope Stability, Foundation, Deep excavation, Tunnelling etc.. in Hong Kong and Australia as geotechnical engineer. I graduated in University of Warwick in UK. I am very interested to move and work in California. I have got chartered with Engineer Australia in civil discipline.

Grateful, if you guys can give useful information or leave your contact for discussion.

Thank you very much for your help in advance

Eric

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Eric…

Welcome to California! Here is the link for the California Board for Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, and Geologists: . This is the agency you will deal with to get an engineering license to practice in California. The laws and regulations for professional engineering in California can be found here: . (Last week I obtained a printed copy of the Board's "2019 Handbook of Laws and Regulations". Every few years I read through the whole thing. I am now up to page 19 and have 183 pages to go.)

You could work in geotechnical engineering here before getting your license, but you would have to work under a current licensee and you couldn't call yourself a professional engineer, etc.

In California, if you were starting from scratch, you would first get a civil license, then add a geotechnical license. I don't know if your Australian license will simplify anything, but please check with the Board.