Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Would I get in trouble legally if I take on a Surveying project if I have no experience in it?

Status
Not open for further replies.

AriStructural

Structural
May 11, 2016
US
I passed my FE exam and completed my B.S in Civil Engineering in 2014.

One of my clients have contacted me for his surveying projects. I've never done any surveying before beside college but I think I'm smart enough to figure it out.

Is there any law that prevents me from taking this project (I live in California)?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

In most states, that depends. If you are performing a boundary or legal survey, then you must be a licensed PLS in every state that I am familiar with. However, if you are performing a topographical survey, route survey, mine survey, or survey for some other construction or development activity not including boundary issues, then in many states you are allowed to do so. However, if you don't have the requisite experience, and do not have the requisite professional liability insurance coverage (E&O policy), then you open yourself up to liability exposure which could cripple you financially for a long time. My advice to you is: don't try it.
Dave

Thaidavid

It would make more sense to subcontract the work to an actual surveyor rather than doing it yourself. You will have to rent the necessary equipment anyway.

The surveying business is quite competitive so one should not expect to make much money surveying.