Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Would it be good to study a bachelor of Industrial Eng. then a Master of automation and robotics ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

koe1234

Industrial
Oct 12, 2012
MA
Hi,
Since I have a good background knowledge in electrical systems, I feel that, even if I'm actually studying Industrial Engineering, I can follow up a Master of automation and robotics or something completely technical.
But do you thing that an industrial engineer would be fine to have studied industrial engineering first and then moved to something completely technical ?
Thanks in advance.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

The way I see it, the BSEE equips you to deal with problems _within_ automation and robotics, whereas the BSIE equips you to deal with the process flows that you will be trying to automate or streamline. So, one equips you to _build_ automation, and the other equips you to _apply_ it.

... but I _am_ guessing, and I don't know you or your capabilities.

Some people, particularly PhD EEs, think that an EE degree equips you to do absolutely anything, because it's so intensive in math that is also used in other disciplines. As an ME, I'd have to say that an EE who thinks that way can get in a _lot_ of trouble masquerading as an ME.

Mike Halloran
Pembroke Pines, FL, USA

Thank you for the answer, but I need to know something : I always notice that IEs always go
for an MBA or a Master that has to do with Management in general. For me, I want to keep up
with the technical stuff and would like to study a Master of Robotics, Automotive ... something technical.
Do you think that I would have a great profile having done IE and then moved to stuff that MEs or EEs do?

Mike makes a good point. I'll add to it.