Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Would you go back to get an MBA, if you already MS? 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

RMunoz1361

Structural
Jul 14, 2008
US
I am considering going back and get an MBA, but do I really need it is the question. I already have my MS, PE and MLSE certification.

Need some advice.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Do you plan on moving to the business management side of things? If not, few companies may care about such things in those cases. If you're going into engineering management, it may help some if you're at a high enough level that your decisions have a major impact on the company (you have a better feel for how it will effect it financially).

I've considered it on and off for years, but I always came back to "I'm an engineer, not a stuffed shirt".

Dan - Owner
Footwell%20Animation%20Tiny.gif

Depends. On you career goals, and the current management perception of what training & knowledge someone needs.

I got the Master's in Engineering, but never wanted to get the MBA. Even though all my engineer friends who did the MBA said it was a cakewalk compared to Engineering. Would an MBA have been useful? Not really, at least on the path that my career took over the years.

What I DID do, though, was collect some sort of bogus certificate by taking a series of casual classes in business subjects. Six weeks each, two nights a week. And the subjects I took were Accounting for non-Financial Managers I & II, Financial Analysis I & II, Purchasing Management, Marketing, and...umm...something else that obviously didn't make a mental impact.

I have stayed generally in the Engineering side of things, but now I can discuss company finances at a higher level with the CFO & CEO, do business planning, budgeting, understand Bean Counter Lunacy and the subsequent company decisions that are made because of it, and have the ability to argue my case in their language.