Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Wrong refrigerant charge pressure gauges-High head pressure

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cjrac

Mechanical
Sep 16, 2013
CA

Recently, a chiller plant we designed kept cutting out on high head pressure and were told it was a result of an incorrectly sized condesing unit. However when I looked back at site pictures from when the chiller was being charged I noticed the pressure gauge manifold had 'R410a' on it when the chiller is charged with R-134a. Can this be why the chiller keeps cutting out? Thanks.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Cjrac
I'm no expert (there are plenty of those in this forum) but it sounds like you may have a number of problems.
You have two refrigerants that function at different pressures, and the wrong gauge. Yes, I would say this is an issue.
Then, someone else telling you that you have an incorrectly sized condensing unit, and your company designed the chiller plant-hmm, doesn't sound good either.

Usually, before designing a chiller plant, you would consider the impact of the whole system. Usually, before switching on a newly designed chiller plant, you would check important things like gauges.
I think you need to get back to first principles.

Almost all gages have psi graduations as well as scales that are for the convenience of technicians that covert temperature to pressure reading for different refrigerants. So using the "wrong" gage would not cause any issue if it was used correctly.

Agreed, gages have different graduations and PT relations on them depending on the full scale deflection of the gage. 410 gages usualy just have that due to the high pressures making other gases not practical to indicate. Also, different oils somestimes......