Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

WS/SS Rising main design requirment 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

SAO2021

Civil/Environmental
May 4, 2021
NZ
I am new to rising main design and any expert would help with my question, really appreciate here
1. is there a requirement for putting inspection chamber at certain distances for maintenance like say every 100m?
2. is air valve at every high point and scour valve at every low point a must? both for water supply rising main and wastewater rising main, maybe the watersupply rising main doesn't need the scour valve at low point?
3. is there a maximum pipe deflection? less than 45 degree is acceptable? Need concrete thrust block at each turning point?
4. Anything major to look out during the design?
My working experience is all gravity sw/ss pipes and not too sure about the rising main so i think it's the best place to ask here

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

JasonH2021 (Civil/Environmental)(OP) said:
I am new to rising main design and any expert would help with my question, really appreciate here
1. is there a requirement for putting inspection chamber at certain distances for maintenance like say every 100m?
2. is air valve at every high point and scour valve at every low point a must? both for water supply rising main and wastewater rising main, maybe the watersupply rising main doesn't need the scour valve at low point?
3. is there a maximum pipe deflection? less than 45 degree is acceptable? Need concrete thrust block at each turning point?
4. Anything major to look out during the design?

1. No