Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Zinc-Plated fasteners and ASME B18.3 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

ED-209

Mechanical
Apr 3, 2022
US
Hello, new to the forum.

I'm new to the profession and am trying to learn what I can to better my knowledge base. We use a combination of zinc-plated and black oxide alloy steel fasteners at my workplace. I noticed when browsing the fasteners on McMaster-Carr that there are far more fasteners in Black Oxide that meet ASME B18.3 than fasteners that have a Zinc-Plated finish. Is there something about the zinc-plating process that prevents fasteners from meeting ASME B18.3?

Additionally, we use a lot of Socket Flat Head Cap Screws in our designs over regular Socket Head Cap Screws. Is there an inherent benefit to c-sink's vs. c'bore's?

Thanks for reading.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

"Additionally, we use a lot of Socket Flat Head Cap Screws in our designs over regular Socket Head Cap Screws. Is there an inherent benefit to c-sink's vs. c'bore's?"

I can't answer your first question, but the second one hits a nerve. I have learned the hard way over the years to avoid flat head socket head screws, especially in any critical situation, if at all possible. They will inevitably become a pain in the ass and almost impossible to remove. "Self-locking" is a good thing, but "impossible to remove without stripping the socket or the wrench" is not a good thing.

Here's why that happens. Screws are almost always used in "patterns" of multiple screws through a common surface. Threads are by their very nature imperfect. It is impossible to create tapped holes with the same precision as drilled or reamed holes. That's why "screw clearance holes" are always a little larger than the screw OD.