Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

3 wire to 4 wire transitions 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

DRSchmitt

Mechanical
Dec 30, 2000
US
first let me say I am not an Electrical engineer (a mechanical) but I am in the Power Generation Biz so I would appreciate any thoughts on the following issue. My question begins with a small 6 MW generation plant which parallels to the grid. the design is simple: gensets are sync AC at 4160V floating neutrals connected to a bus and in turn to a step-up xfmr 4160V delta to 60KV grounded wye. Amoung all other standard Utility protection there is a Gen.Bus Ground Fault Detection Relay (59G) which is configured in a "broken delta" (I believe)to obviously detect any one of the phases going to ground etc... O.K. pretty straight forward right. Now there is added an on site power distribution system to be added to the end of the gen. bus by means of a load break switch (all 4160V). So three conductors are run the first pole to begin this circuit...years go by... finally a design and installation are complete for this on-site dist. line and it is a 4 wire system (3 phases & Neutral) the pole drops (9 in all)are single phase service with the xfmrs (high side)phase to Neutral...Oh and by the way the Neutral #4th wire is bonded to the shielding on the three conductors at pole #1 and in turn the grounding grid at the plant(this should have been the first sign of trouble by the contractor but...) and for that matter at ever pole ground also (remember no fourth wire was provided at pole #1.) so upon energization the 59G relay picked up and... yes you guessed it... we 86'd. So I would love to here some possible solutions to this problem, then I will tell you what was installed to "remedy" the situation. Any feedback would be great.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Suggestion: