Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

absolution 8

Status
Not open for further replies.

acobviously

Materials
Aug 8, 2008
CA
I am not big time. I am just an intern at a small manufacturing company. I feel like I have not lived up to my end of the bargain on this job due to my slackness. I know I am only making beans, but I haven't earned them this time. I am resolved to come clean with the owner and return a portion of my pay. Advice?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

[This may be a troll, but I'm taking the bait...]

I doubt they have the accounting setup to accept return pay. Just shape up and be a good intern from here on.

Hg

Eng-Tips policies: faq731-376

Honesty may be the "best policy" but it can be hell on relationships. Your relationship with your boss will almost certainly be permanently damaged. Just stop slacking and hope the improvement is noted.

Shut up, grow up, move on.

[bat]Honesty may be the best policy, but insanity is a better defense.[bat]
-SolidWorks API VB programming help

You know you are a slacker, change your ways. If you don't have enough work, ask for it, or see if others need assistance.

...or not.

"Art without engineering is dreaming; Engineering without art is calculating."

Have you read faq731-376 to make the best use of these Forums?

Advice you say? You admitting to slacking? Job bore you? Feel like you are above doing what is asked of you? Just can't be bothered? Got stoned at lunchtime?

It would cost most companies more money in time and effort to take some of your 'beans' off you. If your boss has noticed you slacking, then you have blown it. No chance of a re- hire there then. Keep your money, and sort yourself out.

I am sincere and not a troll.

If they can't accept it back, what do I do? Not cash the check? Refuse the next one? Ask for a pay decrease?