Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Another "what would you charge" post

Status
Not open for further replies.

proletariat

Civil/Environmental
Apr 15, 2005
US
I currently do side work for a one-man land development engineer as a contract / hourly employee. No benefits, insurance, etc. My real job handles all of that.

I do the stormwater calculations for the sites he is working on.

I'm a PE for about 10 years now.

I'm new to the geographic area, so I am a little "higher maintenance" than someone who has done work in the area for years and years. i.e., requiring help to get up to speed on the ins and outs of the accepted stormwater laws practices around here. This should resolve itself in the next six months.

He does not provide insurance.

He does provide all the engineering software.

I work from home at night, with occasional meetings at his office.

I provide my own computer and have his software loaded on it. We use portable licenses that can be checked in and out.

I currently charge $35/hour for this and work about 12 hours per week (I needed the money at the time, so I didn't want to charge too much).

I wouldn't raise rates on him until probably at least six months or a year from now. Just curious what other contract employees would charge; or what other business owners would expect to pay in this situation.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you