API 650 Questions for a newbie 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Legoman92

Structural
Nov 9, 2021
AU
Hi Gents,

Im a Structural Engineer (Australian) and have a few questions regarding the API 650 code. I've designed some small tanks/hoppers etc before (not using API), however in a new project I'm taking the role of Designing some CIL tanks (10m Diameter, 12m high) for a gold plant. I'll have another senior checking my work, but I still have some burning questions! Hopefully you guys can shed some light:

1. Difference between chapter 5 and Annex A Shell design thickness calculation? I noticed Section 5 states allowable stresses to be used for the different plate grades, however Annex A has Joint efficiency and a set allowable stress of 145 MPa. What's the reasoning for this? If you design to section 5 are you expected to undertake NDT required for a joint efficiency of 1? Does joint efficiency come into play when designing nozzle reinforcement etc?

2. Flush Clean out door - a)Section 5 has set dimensions for a 610x610 flush clean out door, but states the door as 600x600 in other locations in the same section. I'm assuming this is a conversion from imperial measurements?

b) Is it a big deal if some of these dimensions are rounded to more sensible numbers? i.e. 1800mm wide reinforcing plate instead of 1830mm etc? bolt edge distance etc. The flange is also shown as 125mm from the shell in the detail. Can this be extended to more than 125mm ?

c) Can a drain nozzle be installed onto the flange cover plate on the flush type clean out opening?

d) Can you install a davit onto the shell wall to aid removing the flange cover plate?

e)What's the difference between a flush type clean out and a flush type shell connection that is mentioned later in section 5? What's to stop you bastardising details between the two?

Thanks

Replies continue below

Recommended for you