Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Applying UG-140 - Liquid Service

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cotton21

Mechanical
Apr 19, 2017
US
We have a filter housing (that is liquid full) has had a PSV installed for a fire case situation and are SCFM and not GPM. I'm a Mechanical Engineer and API Inspector (510, 570, 653) and have been for almost 15 years now. It is my understanding that you still need a PSV to protect the vessel from over pressure.

My question is do you need to have a Fire case PSV and an over pressure PSV installed concurrently?

What my thoughts are.
1. It is a pressure vessel it is required to have a PSV.
2. It is liquid so the over-pressure PSV's should be GPM and not SCFM.
3. It is being said that since the system can not over pressure this vessel that an "Over Pressure" PSV is not required. This however is not noted on the U1a. Therefore, it is required to have an over pressure PSV installed per "ASME Section VIII UG-125 and UG-140"
4. Fire case PSV's do not protect from system over-pressure.
5. PSV's that are for liquid are not interchangeable for a gas service.

Thoughts? Concerns?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Hi Cotton21

My comments to your thoughts;-

1. It is a pressure vessel it is required to have a PSV.
In the USA, and as per ASME VIII for unfired vessels, anything above 15 PSIG requires a PRV.

2. It is liquid so the over-pressure PSV's should be GPM and not SCFM.
You also mention fire case. If so, it may well be the application of the PRV is for the overpressure relief of vessel from external fire causing the liquid to be vapourised and generating a vapour flow rate. It is critical to establish the application(s). Do you have a specification sheet available?