Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

arched or cambered trailer frames 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tmoose

Mechanical
Apr 12, 2003
US
We were having a discussion today about the purpose of cambered main rails on trailers that haul around heavy equipment.
One fellow felt that the beam was stiffer as a result of the camber.
I thought it would have little or no effect on stiffnes unless a tension member went from end to end. So the arch is to end up with a flat floor or good ground clearance.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

First off, the frame rail goes from one end of the trailer to the other, so it does go end to end, and the bottom flange is in tension under load.

Now, my qualifier. I am not a structural engineer, and maybe this should be posted in a fourm where they live, but the arched trailer is done on purpose to enable the beams to carry the load properly.

It is magical to see an arched trailer being loaded with with a point load, steel coils come to mind as one of best of examples, and the frame rails flatten out, only to return to their original arch upon having the load removed.

Now the structural guys will have to explain all the statics and stress and strain that goes with all that.

As I remember it, the bottom flange of the frame rail goes into a heck of a tension, and as your friend says, gets stiffer.

Same for heavy haul trailers, etc. It has to do with the load carrying characteristics of the trailer, and nothing to do with ground clearance.

In theory, a properly designed, properly loaded trailer frame will be perfectly horizontal, and the ground clearance will be equal all around the trailer.