Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Are smartphone accelerometers useful for vibration characterization? 1

Status
Not open for further replies.
Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Unless you get the outputs directly, you might not get much in the way of frequency response. Then, there is the using of not having a rigid installation to the unit under test. You know that typical accelerometers are Super-glued to the unit under test, right?

TTFN
faq731-376
7ofakss

Need help writing a question or understanding a reply? forum1529

Of course I can. I can do anything. I can do absolutely anything. I'm an expert!

I quite like the free apps that stream accelerometer data into files I can easily upload to my PC. I've been using one to quantify the vertical shaking I feel at my desk when fork lifts pass by the building. I wouldn't want to try to measure anything much more severe than that.

- Steve

For measuring something with no requirement for accuracy, this would be fun to play with.

For gathering equipment vibration data, useless. Mainly because of garbage input data.

And you know what they say....G.I.G.O.

I'll apologize in advance if my previous response was too harsh. This Forum does not appear to allow editing, and this is unfortunate. The OP stated: "Are these useful for doing quantitative vibration analysis, and if not, what are their deficiencies?"