Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

ASTM D1415 vs. D2240 Type M micro-hardness testing 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

PatAero

Nov 20, 2014
US
Hi all,

I am looking to better understand the differences between ASTM D1415 and ASTM D2240 for type M micro-hardness testing. I have had some O-rings tested at two different labs. One lab used D2240 and the other used both D1415 & D2240. The D2240 results from both labs matched however the D1415 test results varied. After reading the ASTM sections the only differences I can come up with are the time dependency and the actual test apparatus. Could anyone better explain the differences between the two? Material is NBR rubber. I'm new to the rubber scene so any help is appreciated!

Thank you for any and all tips!

Pat

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

One difference (I'm sure there are others) seems to be that D1415 (IRHD) uses a ball indentor while D2240 Type M uses a conical indentor.

Thanks for pointing those out Tom, I found those specs under the "Apparatus" section of the ASTM book.

Something I should have included before:

The test results using D2240 Type M were found to be a 70 Durometer however the D1415 Type M test results yielded between 50 and 60 Durometer. In this case which test should one believe? Are the results even comparable in the same scale?

Thanks Again
Pat

"...which test should one believe?"
- Is there any reason not to believe both? The compound has a D2240-M hardness of 70 and D1415-M hardness of ~55. I think it depends on what what specification or requirements you're trying to meet, or what the customer wants. If the specification that needs to be met is an ASTM D2000 callout, for example, then D2240 hardness is specified.