Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Atmospheric Tanks Design Pressure (45/FV?) 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

andy_oohhh

Chemical
Jul 11, 2019
US

We have a tank that was specified with a vessel design pressure of "45/FV" in units of psig. I was told that 45 psig was typical for atmospheric tanks. Is there a standard that states this? Why use 45 and not atmospheric pressure?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I have 43 years experience, and I've never seen/heard that for an "atmospheric tank".

Check the spec, fabrication drawing, and nameplate. If it is 45 psig it should have a Manufacturer's Data Report (U-1 Form) registered with the National Board.

Maybe 45" w.c., but in that case definately not FV.

Good Luck,
Latexman

"I was told...."

By who exactly?
Ask them surely and wait for the blank look.

Total rubbish.

That is a PV design, not a tank spec.

Now there's nothing to stop you using a PV as a tank, but that doesn't make this typical.

Remember - More details = better answers
Also: If you get a response it's polite to respond to it.

I found it odd and don't disagree. The only thing I can think of that might be driving the pressure is the "full vacuum". Is there an equivalent design pressure that you use when you need a FV rated tank? I don't know if this makes any sense but just trying to reason all possibilities.

For pressure vessels, ME’s have told me in the past that FV results in a MAWP of ~ 50 psig, size and shape matters. Kinda what you said, but not with “atmospheric tanks”.

Good Luck,
Latexman

How big is this mysterious "tank"?

FV is a lot harder than it looks.

I can only imagine this is some sort of horizontal cylindrical dished end vessel?

But yes you would need 4 to 5 bar to get enough strength for FV.