Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Balcony Railing Design Load combination 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

rolkamatic

Structural
Jul 18, 2008
US
thread507-250820

I'm an architect, the engineering submittals I see for balcony rails typically state that wind and railing live loads are not considered concurrent because the balcony is assumed not be occupied during a 50 year wind storm, 98mph wind speed in my area.

The IBC and ASCE 7 has a load combination for allowable stress design which include live and wind loads discounted 75%. Does the assumption of the balcony being un-occpied have any basis other than the engineers judgement? Is there any standard to or published method for approaching this?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

There is very little surface area on a balcony guardrail for wind to have any appreciable effect on it. I don't think there is any location in the code specifically stating that wind and live load need not be considered concurrently, but I think it is common practice not to include them concurrently.

The picture is different if the balcony has some sort of fascia. Then the loading can become significant from wind loads.

I am sure others here will chime in and you will have a broader idea.

PS: I am super excited about architects flipping through structural codes and asking practical questions. That's a rarity :)

0.75L + 0.75W is a pretty specific code requirement that they DO act concurrently.

The 0.75 is a discount to account for the fact that during extreme events you won't have full LL applied.

Balcony guardrails do indeed sometimes have significant wind force if they are solid panels, perforated panels, or even a series of steel bars @ 4" o.c. Wind drag on individual pieces does occur.