Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Bandwidth 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

jobeth

Mechanical
Jan 14, 2000
US
Visit site
What is the meaning of Bandwidth and what can I do with it?<br><br>Thank you. <p>William H. Bernhart, P.E.<br><a href=mailto: > </a><br><a href= > </a><br>I work as a development engineer for AMP - Tyco Electronics located near Harrisburg, PA. I help design interconnections / electrical connectors for aerospace applications.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Bandwidth, the amount of data that can be transmitted in a given period over a transmission channel such as a radio transmitter, satellite dish, or the wiring that connects one computer to another. Bandwidth typically is expressed in cycles per second (hertz) or bits per second (bps).<br><br>

Thank you... <p>William H. Bernhart, P.E.<br><a href=mailto: > </a><br><a href= > </a><br>I work as a development engineer for AMP - Tyco Electronics located near Harrisburg, PA. I help design interconnections and electrical connectors for aerospace applications.

I agree that the bandwidth is the measurement of information/time. But the bandwidth is the width of a channel in hertz. The bits/sec is a rating of speed of information transfer. You see, in order for a signal to be sent in bits it has to be a digital signal( 1s or 0s) as opposed to an analog signal. If you want to learn more William, just feel free to write another question:)
Steve M. [sig][/sig]

Suggestion: