Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Basic units output in mathcad

Status
Not open for further replies.

tue98161

Civil/Environmental
Nov 23, 2012
US
Hey all, I'm an undergrad using mathcad for the first time to do some basic calcs for a design class.

I'm having an issue with units being assigned in the program. (File is attached, work begins on page 3).

I've assigned a value for "P" in lbf and a value for "a" in ft. When these two values are multiplied, the output is in [ft^2*lb]/s^2.

Later on in the calculations, I have a length, "L", but the program has assigned that to be gallons, not "feet" as I would like it.

How can I use the program to control these units?

Thank you!

http://files.engineering.com/getfile.aspx?folder=ffe127c4-e2ab-4fd9-8df4-a48e88b25df9&file=Timber_Design_Sheet.xmcd
Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I don't think you specified eg. P:=100*lbf. If you had, you would have gotten the right result, maybe in Joules, but correct nonetheless. As far as the "L" is concerned, it is a Mathcad predefined unit and stands for "liter" - so don't use it as a variable name.

Someone apparently failed to point out to you that you CANNOT and MUST NOT use built-in unit names as variable names. L is a Mathcad symbol for liter; note, however, this is a non-standard usage, since liter is not a proper name, so its symbol must be lower case. Only units that are named after people, like the kelvin, has a capitalized K for its symbol.

You should always check to see if the symbol you are using is already taken. The first time you type L=, it would have converted to L:= had L not been previously defined. L= should result in L=1*L because its a built-in unit

TTFN
faq731-376
7ofakss