Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Bolt Clamp Force 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

somarp

Mechanical
Sep 14, 2004
US
I need some help - I am working on a new design. I will tell you that I am not an engineer, but just a mechanical designer so please understand the basics of my questions.

I am designing a carriage that is rack and pinion drive. The carriage is being driven by 2 planteries with 2 Eaton motors driving them. The planeties are developing 30,000 pounds of force - 15,000 per each side.

The are 2 racks that are welded to a 8" x 8" sqaure tube and the carriage pinions run along the outside of the rack.

I am installing 2 prox switches at the end of the travel at one end of the tube. The first is a slow down and the switch is a stop.

My question is - I am wanting to design some mechanical stops to install to the side of the rack at the end of the tube. The stops would be there if in the event of a failure of either prox which would probably result in damage to the rack system.

I am thinking about using 2 square bars - 2" think and drilling thru holes in them and then drilling and tapping the rack on each side. Therefore I would mount the bars with bolts on each side of the rack. So in the event of a switch failure each bar would potentially see 15,000 force being applied to them. I know to design the bolts to withstand the shear force, but I am curious do I need to address the clamp force of the hardware to withstand the 15,000 force. I am thinking that I need too, but am unsure how.

I would appreciate any help. Thanks in advance.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I think you're on the right track, but I'm not getting a complete mental picture of what you've got and how many ways it could go wrong. It sounds like a failure could get real expensive.

Tell your boss that renting an engineer for a while is cheap insurance.

Mike Halloran
NOT speaking for
DeAngelo Marine Exhaust Inc.
Ft. Lauderdale, FL, USA