Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Booster Pumping System

Status
Not open for further replies.

sam01

Mechanical
Sep 27, 2001
US
I would like to develop a booster pump system that would maintain a system pressure of 60 psi at a municipal plant. The system will distribute effluent water at various locations. My suction header is drawing off of an effluent channel. A positive suction head of 14 feet plus atmospheric. I want to set up a pipe network system to minimize friction losses. The system curve is flat which starts at 60 psi and 10 to 20 feet of pipe losses. The initial system demands vary from 3300 gpm to 5500 then to 8300 and finally to about 12000 gpm. How do I maintain the system head pressure and cover all the flow requirements utilizing VFD's?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I'm not an expert on this but I think you would need an accumulator tank at an elevation corresponding to your required discharge head (as on domestic water supply systems), using the pump on/off to maintain level in the tank. The tank should have a large diameter to ensure small changes in level when the pump is running.
Alternatively a pressure vessel can be used at grade elevation, provided with a backpressure (from air or nitrogen) corresponding to the discharge pressure/head.

Regards
Mogens
mgp@kabelnettet.dk

There are so many ways you can do this, allow me to give two suggestions if you want to use just one pump.

There is an easy way and a hard way to do this. The easy way would be to put in a throttling valve and a backpressure regulating valve downstream of the pump. The throttling valve will control your flowrate and the reg valve will maintain the pressure at a set level. You'd size your pump based upon max flow@60 psi and control the throttling valve by whatever method you choose.