Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Eng-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Boss was expecting me to become an expert in 6 months. 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

POLYENGMOR

Civil/Environmental
Sep 3, 2021
MA
Hello fellow engineers.

Please excuse my English, not my native language.

I'm a civil engineer who has been working for 6 years now. For the 5 first years, I have been working as a "studies engineer" for a construction company specialized in a "niche" construction sector. During those years, I was involved in producing what we call here execution studies which are majorly shop drawings. Then I have been promoted to manage a team of technicians for the production of those "execution studies". Last year, I have been hired by a company to do the same job but in a different construction sector. In the new company, part of these studies (calculations) are produced by an expert. The expert retired last month and now they are expecting me to do the expert's job besides my initial duties (and some other duties that have been added during these 6 months). I was told about their expectations 3 months ago but they have been giving me so many tasks that I hardly picked up 30% of what the expert was doing. I have a meeting with the CEO (small company) about this next week. How to deal with it?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

...a challenge! [ponder]

Rather than think climate change and the corona virus as science, think of it as the wrath of God. Feel any better?

-Dik

Honesty is the best policy. Tell them what you think, what the problems are. But also provide a solution. Figure out a training timeline that will get you where you need to go, and figure out how much of the other work you can do. Then set boundaries and fight to make sure the plan is implemented.