Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Butchered Databases 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

tz101

Mechanical
Feb 11, 2005
US
Just me, or does anyone else go to work for companies where the previous engineers and/or CAD jockeys were either total novices with SolidWorks or just careless with their modeling/drawing/file saving conventions? Seems like everywhere I go, I spend a good amount of time repairing model files that were not created with sound methodology, detail drawings that are an embarrassment to send out to vendors, and models/drawings saved in multiple locations on the file server due to "AutoCAD mentality" of no parametric relationships between files.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Not just you. I worked one place where individual assemblies were saved in separate folders; that meant that subassemblies were also in separate folders. So updating a sub assembly meant also opening and separately changing each higher assembly.

One guess as to the results.

Also typical was "I can't figure out how this feature works, so I'll delete it and create a new one." So all the higher level assembly connections now fail. Nice.

Mostly it's about being rewarded for quick work. It let's the drawings/models get put out quickly and it burdens co-workers to slow them by comparison.

This is very common. I run into at every company. The problem I see is managers don't want to pay for training, they assume all CAD is easy to learn. They say just learn on YouTube or have a coworker show you. Then they share/learn bad habits, and become frustrated/bored because they are pushed to their limits based on dates they miss because of poor CAD management skills.

ctopher, CSWP
SolidWorks '17
ctophers home
SolidWorks Legion