Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Can I end up where I'd like to, given what I'm doing now 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

SP777

Structural
Mar 21, 2013
CA
I'm a recent graduate of a civil engineering program. I'm working as an E.I.T. designer currently for a small consulting firm. They do a lot of specific specialized stuff, but we also do a lot of general structural engineering, ex. foundation design, roof analysis for additional loads, etc...I've been there for 6 months now, and don't mind what I'm doing however I don't see it as something I could do for much longer. My concern especially is that in working for this company I will be limiting my future options, as a potential employer could see me as someone who only knows the stuff this firm specializes in.

I thought I wanted to be a designer, and truthfully I want my PE, but I see a lot of my friends doing project management and I realized I'd be a lot more intersted doing that (judging by the way they desicribe thier jobs). Is trying to get into project management now (aka. sending out resumes w/ only 6 months experience in design, though currently employed) a good or bad idea?

Also, if changing job couldn't happen in the near future, how would my future look in converting over to more of a management type role, as opposed to a guy who crunches numbers for design in a couple of years? What is the difference in career path between someone who starts out as a designer vs. someone who starts out in project managemener? I'm talking responsibilities, salary and employment opportunity, and how does that change over time?

I'm so new to this industry, so I really want to feel out where I fit in. I appreciate any reponses! cheers

Replies continue below

Recommended for you