Checking calculations 19

Status
Not open for further replies.

P205

Structural
Mar 2, 2008
CA
I'm writing this thread in regards to what was said in this old thread here:

It leaves me feeling uneasy to say the least. I also feel compelled to ask the following question:

- In the interest of meeting the deadlines AND feeling comfortable, why not be generously conservative in most of your designs?

- Many admit to finding errors often in their own work and in others. It stands to reason that not all errors get discovered. This would lead me to want to be conservative in my design.

- Another thought, given the old triangle (cost-quality-time), if deadlines are very rushed (low time) and the structure simply needs to be satisfactory (low quality/less refined), then being conservative (higher cost) appears to be the way to solve this puzzle.

Thoughts?

---

Personally, I have 8 years of design experience, and spend a lot of time reading books and teaching myself as much as I can. I usually buy a few books a year to refine my skills and knowledge. Honestly, I don't see too many peers doing that. I'm just looking to stimulate some discussion.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Errors are common. More common than we'd like to admit. I've made my share.

Big firms have some kind of checking policy (usually). One man shops? Rarely, unless it's big enough to require a peer review.

I found an error today from a vendor who was reporting a load of P. It looked to me like he forgot that his columns were loaded from two sides. When I asked, he told me, "Thanks, they should have been two-sided." Plus some additional equipment loads. The total was 2.4P. I'll probably add 15% to that and use 2.8P.