Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

CL-650 Aft Pressure Bulkhead, Design wants to attach lavatory cabinets to it.

Status
Not open for further replies.

bigbertha912

Aerospace
Apr 14, 2016
US
I was asked to Analyze an aft Lavatory compartment that is being attached to the Aft Pressure bulkhead for a CL-650. This is my first time seeing it today and basically the lateral brackets (see attached photo) use the existing holes of the support structure to attach.
To me this is a major RED FLAG because i would imagine that F&DT is going to be a real bitch (I am not a DT expert). I also believe that in the 1G sitting, the upper lavatory compartments you can see in the photo will be pre-torquing the structure.

Any advice, or suggestions as to why this is okay or not okay? Analytically i can make it work, but that doesn't mean its a good idea, in my opinion.
I also attached the SRM which shows the angles/webs and stiffeners on the aft side of the pressure bulkhead.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I fully agree with SWComposites.

I'm not totally familiar with accepted Part 23 completion practices or Part 23 bulkhead design philosophy, but amongst other things I am a DT guy. I have always treated bulkheads with caution that verges on terror. One might say that the bulkhead its no more sensitive to F&DT issues than the skin, and the skin is routinely modded, so what's the big deal? The big deal is:
(1) Inspectability of the bulkhead is typically much worse than that of the skin.
(2) Corrosion of the bulkhead may be more likely than for the skin (very design-specific, but I can think of examples), and corrosion + poor F&DT detail = severe, severe, severe concern.