Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Eng-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Cleaning the air

Status
Not open for further replies.

PEDARRIN2

Mechanical
Oct 1, 2003
US

I deal more on the water side of dealing with microbial issues in buildings.

My company wants to install this in our office as part of our COVID response prior to coming back from remote work. When/if I see something like this on the water side, I typically call it pseudo science.

When they make the claims about being similar to the ocean for air purification and lightning (but no ozone), I wonder. But I have little experience on the air side.

Thoughts?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Sounds a bit dubious, mostly in terms of numerical efficacy, since their website seems to be devoid of efficacy/performance.

TTFN (ta ta for now)
I can do absolutely anything. I'm an expert! faq731-376 forum1529 Entire Forum list

We once had a presentation from them. I'm not smart enough to judge if the plasma really kills virus. But their tests are based on a steady state exposure in a 10'^3 chamber. The plasma has a life of 50 seconds.

note many of the pathogens have kill times in minutes, not seconds. virus seem to be killed faster (a virus doesn't have a really protective "skin" like bacteria). They said they are working on COVID-19 tests. They say it doesn't produce ozone.

assuming you want to put this into an AHU, there are the following concerns I would have: