Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Client wants a performance guarantee 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

SylvestreW

Mechanical
Apr 11, 2005
CA
I work as a consultant engineer. Our client has a problem with their building and we have proposed a solution. Detailed design & engineering will cost about $200K. The client wants a financial and letter guarantee i.e. that our solution will be effective or we don't get paid (either at all, or until it's fixed). Obviously we are confident but unless detailed engineering is done, we can't know for sure. In addition, our design will be a retro-fit into a building so again, there's unknowns.

This is a large scale project for us i.e. we can't afford the risk of failure, but then again, won't go forward without the guarantee.

What's others experience with this?

I don't want to over-design such that there's so much safety factor that I can't help but succeed since that'll be a poor design. My associate is thinking of a double or nothing approach i.e. the client pays 0 if it doesn't work but double the costs (400K) if it's successful.

I'm wondering if there's an option to get some kind of insurance rider that'll protect us, but I have no idea bout this.

Thanks for any feedback.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I like your associate's solution, but I don't think you should seriously propose that to your Client. I seen performance guarantees before, and have put them in building specifications for a system that is design/build. I don't think the penalty was ever zero, though.

Personally I would not do it, but if truly in a desperate situation needing the job, spell out what constitutes an effective solution in the agreement. Anything above and beyond what is in the agreement cannot be used as reason for non-payment.