Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

CNC: lead screw and load question 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

cnc123

Mechanical
Jan 6, 2005
US
Hi group

I`m hoping someone in the group could help me. I am a woodworker building a 3 axis CNC machine. I have my frame constructed with a moving gantry design. I currently have a 5/8 diameter ball screw with a length of 67 inches. Both ends are fixed to double bearing assemblies.
My stepper is capable of running at 1100 rpms. At this speed and even below I am getting screw wipe. I plan to upgrade to a 1 inch diameter ball screw with a lead of .5. I am hoping to increase my traverse speed by the change in lead. I am uncertain if the change in lead may cause me problems moving the gantry. With the .2 lead and a 666 oz*in stepper I was able to move 230 pounds of steel at 240 ipms. I hope to run my .5 ball screw even faster.(ipm)
I have a new motor that I was going to use with 1200 oz*in. Since I am losing mechanical advantage by moving to a .5 inch lead I am concerned the stepper may not be able to move the load.
Another concern.
Someone mentioned that you have to be careful in selecting the size of a ball screw because a large screw will weigh so much that the stepper may have a problem getting the mass of the screw up to maximum speed. I am wondering
if this is something that may adversely affect my design.
Here are a few pics of the machine under construction

Thanks for the help

Replies continue below

Recommended for you