Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Compression of Hollow Rubber Seal 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

ConorWalsh

Mechanical
Jul 18, 2003
US
hello all,

I am new to Abaqus and have used Ansys before but am having a bit of trouble adapting to it.

I am currently attempting to model the compression of a hollow rubber seal that is constained between two rigid surfaces and the upper rigid surface begins in contact with seal and then moves down via a dof constraint to comprerss it.

I wanted to model the rubber as a hyperelastic material by using the coefficeints C10,C01 as 80 and 20 respectively, I am not sure what bthe D coefficeint is for. Can you help.

Also I am unsure what element type to use.

Could someone who has encoutered a problem like this before give me some guidlines on the approach to take.

Thanks in advance

Conor

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Conor,

I think that you have done a good thing going from Ansys to Abaqus. We made the switch a couple of years ago and I haven't look back since...

As far as your coef. definition goes, it should look something like this:
------------
*SOLID SECTION,ELSET=<YOUR ELSET NAME FOR THE RUBBER ELEMENTS>,MATERIAL=<MATERIAL LABEL>
*MATERIAL,NAME=<MATERIAL LABEL>
*hyperelastic,polynomial,n=1
-----------

For the rigid surfaces you have to make sure that the normal of the surface is pointed in the direction of the contact. If your points for the rigid surface are 0,0 to 0,1 the direction would be up. If it went from 1,0 to 0,0 the direction would be down.

The surface call outs would look like this:
-----------------------------------
*SURFACE, TYPE=SEGMENTS, NAME=<<<RIGID SURFACE NAME>>>>
START, 0.,0.
LINE, 0.,1.