Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Considering leaving structural engineering behind as a career. 3

NorwegianEngineer

Structural
Sep 18, 2024
NO
Hello everyone,

I've worked in construction my entire life. 12 years as a carpenter before I graduated as a civil engineer and landed a job as a structural engineer which I've had for 7 years now. I work in a firm which mostly designs high rise buildings and my focus is on detailing the project (concrete design => 3D modeling => drawings to the manufacturer and construction site) with a focus on precast concrete.

I'm reaching a point where considering both my age and experience it's time to decide if I should really pursue this further and become an expert or if I should move on to something else.

What I dislike:

- Very competitive industry. It was okay until around 2022, but for the last few years it's been extremely competitive with everyone underbidding everyone else to get a project. In practice, this means that the projects are usually not earning money and we don't really have the time we need or want to do things properly. I get my salary regardless, but it's not a pleasant feeling when you know the project went red and the firm actually lost money on it. And your leader is always bugging you if you're finished soon and even implying you've spent way too much time on a design. When in truth it actually does take time.

The fact that it's so competitive means pressure on two fronts. Recently, there's been a lot of pressure from our customer to create optimized constructions (reduce material costs). So, we're pressured both on time to make it profitable for us and at the same time the customer is pressing us to make more optimized designs such that they can save money.

- Deadlines. The last few years have been OKAY, but I've had years working 500 + hours of overtime.