Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Constant pipe support to combat thermal expansion 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

tdt108

Mechanical
Jun 15, 2022
US
I am working on a project to support a large pipe during thermal expansion. Most of the weight will be supported from the top, but a constant portion of the weight needs to be supported from the bottom to minimize permanent thermal expansion without causing a buckle at the top. I originally thought about using a constant spring and that still is likely the best option, but they are expensive and bulky. My next thought is to use hydraulic/pneumatic cylinders with some type of valve. I am still a student so I am pretty new to engineering design and have not worked with hydraulic and pneumatic cylinders much so I am wondering if this would be a possible solution or if these cylinders are commonly used for this purpose. If anyone has any other recommendations, please share if you'd like to.

Thanks,
T

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

A sketch always helps.

How does supporting a pipe from the top cause a buckle?

Springs are easy, simple reliable and work well.

Air / pneumatics can fail and are more difficult to control due to temperature changes, leaks etc and probably cost the same or more. You don't see them for a reason.

Remember - More details = better answers
Also: If you get a response it's polite to respond to it.

I think this setup is simple enough to do by hand and without CAD since I am looking for somewhat general concept advice rather than something specific to my project. I have attached both PDF and PNG files just in case. Let me know if there are any viewing issues.

[URL unfurl="true"]https://res.cloudinary.com/engineering-com/image/upload/v1655299774/tips/Pipe_const_sup_a1vzw2.pdf[/url]
pipe_const_sup_b1exfn.jpg

Ah, that's what a sketch is vital.

So this is a vertical pipe of how long?
The thermal expansion, even for a long pipe of say 20m is very small.