Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Conventional Foundation in Soft Clays 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

cbear1

Civil/Environmental
Apr 26, 2007
US
I am a civil engineer reviewing the geotechnical investigation for a foundation retrofit of a house in an area with firm to soft clays. (Blow counts of 6-12 in upper 10 feet, drastically dropping to 4-5 down to about 41 feet) Groundwater is at 5' below grade.

The only testing done has been moisture content (30-40%) and pocket penetrometer (hovers around 1-1.2 tsf for the first 10 feet, drops to <0.5 below that) and the geotech slaps a value of 1000 psf for soil bearing pressure - based on a conservative guess?? First of all, I'm extremely leary of pocket penetrometers (especially taken on recovered samples, not in-situ) and I would assume that for a sensitive soil such as clays that there would be some consolidation tests run, as well as an undrained shear tests (something beyond a liner sampler..)

I want to make sure that we are getting real values and not just assumptions for what this soil will do, as right now the geotech has recommended simple conventional foundations 2' below grade for the site, while the soft soils and high groundwater would indicate more analysis is necessary...and can you really get compressibility, strength and expansion characteristics from the natural moisture content??

Any thoughts?

Thank you all in advance!!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you