Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Cooling Tower Replacement

Status
Not open for further replies.

MechWang

Mechanical
May 2, 2022
US
Hello All, Newbie here, just want to get some expert advice, with regards to cooling tower replacement.
Do you just get the same specs of the cooling tower and replace it same for same? or you still calculate the heat load of the building to compare to existing?
second, when you change the cooling tower and condenser water pump, are you required also to replace VFD / controls or you can reuse what is there?
Third, for permit documents, do you add the rental cooling tower in the plans or just let the contractor figure it out? would really appreciate some advice. Thank you.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

The tower should be matched to the chiller plant. Probably good to verify if that actually was the case for the existing tower.

You can re-use what still works and has lot of expected life left if the size is correct.

I wouldn't just re-use specs, you are installing a new tower, not the 30 year old one. And any blind copying also copies any old errors.

For permit, ask the JHA what they require. From my point, you could be in Qatar, Sweden, or Brazil. they all will require different items. Probably depends on how long you need the temporary tower. Decades, years, days?

Pardon my ignorance, i dont see a chiller, I see a Trane scwg model (2) 30 TON and (2) 35 TON. existing tower is Marley has 2550 gpm Condenser pump 2500 gpm, Yaskawa vfd. no existing drawings whatsover. I am here in Broward Florida. I just need some guidance on how to tackle so i dont duplicate the error/'s if there is any, so far i created an excel sheet to list all TOR of the apartments offices and common areas of the building.