Counter Offer OK or Out of Line? 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

SuperSalad

Chemical
Mar 8, 2017
US
Quick synopsis:
- I've been working very unhappily in my current job for about 8 years, in an R&D chemist role, not engineering.
- This was my first job after graduating with my BS in chemical engineering.
- I've just received an offer for a new job at another company in an engineering role.
- The commute for the new position would be about 15 minutes less and less stressful overall
- The potential new company seems very much more my style and a vastly better work culture

The current offer is:
- Slightly more money (about 4.5% increase)
- A loss of 1.5% match in retirement (going from 5% to 3.5% 401K match or about $3500 with my current contribution rate).
- I'll be losing 1 weeks vacation and a few days of sick time (going from 3 weeks vacation and 2 weeks sick-time to 2 weeks vacation and 1 week sick-time)
- I'm waiting for a reply about this, but I'm also pretty sure I'll be losing a $1000 HSA match I currently have.

My questions for those for seasoned offer receivers:

Would I be out of line asking for an additional $5000 in salary to make up for the loss of 401K match, HSA match, and vacation days?

Would it come across as me having entitlement issues for not wanting to give up perks I already have so readily? Or is it normal to make concessions like this for a positive career move?

I feel like its one of those "Can't hurt to ask" situations and if I don't I'll regret not starting at a better baseline. I just don't want to start off on the wrong foot, they seem to like me a lot and I certainly like them from what I've seen throughout the interview process.

What say the masses?

Andrew H.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

It's not a straightforward lateral move, since you've admittedly not been doing what you're now being offered. I don't know how your current compensation compares against a new grad, but that's something to consider.