Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Creep in 3D printed Nylon

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tegguy

Aerospace
Sep 26, 2009
US
I am hoping someone might have some knowledge that can help me out. I am a Mechanical Design engineer tasked with solving a problem with an existing design. We have a set of grown Nylon 12PA parts that get bolted together with an O-ring between them. We have heatsert's in the base with a #6 screw coming through the cover that gets torqued.

Here is the problem: The heatsert's are pulling out of the base. I have done some bench top testing and this is all pointing to creep/coldflow as I will torque a screw and come back an hour later and retorque it and get 10-30 degrees rotation out of the fastener before re-torqueing.

I don't understand creep enough to properly come up with a repair solution so I had a few questions
1) Does creep occur under any stress or only if the stress gets high enough? I see the equation takes into account "activation energy" but I'm not exactly sure what this energy is
2) Are there any good ways to try to predict creep without doing testing to establish information?
3) Can edge distance impact creep?
4) Is there a good way to predict creep in threaded portions (how many threads act as bearing area)?
5) Looking at some material information for various materials I see "Creep Strength" and "Creep Modulus" but I'm not exactly sure what these mean.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

1) Does creep occur under any stress or only if the stress gets high enough? > this is material and temperature dependent; in general creep will occur under any stress, but the rate may be so low to be insignificant
2) Are there any good ways to try to predict creep without doing testing to establish information? > no
3) Can edge distance impact creep? > indirectly, as smaller edge distance will have higher local stresses