Cummins harmonic balancer 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

starspangled

Automotive
Nov 27, 2004
US
Hi guys,

I read of a fellow having success using the Cummins 6BT harmonic balancer with an adapter on a Cummins 4BT to solve vibration & balance problems. I'm no engineer so I though I'd check here whether that is a good idea, and if not, why not? Other alternative suggestions appreciated....thanks!

Starspangled

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Can't say for sure, probably as both engines are cut from the same pie...I'm not sure I would bother as I have a passing aquaintence with a early 60's Cheby pickup with a 4BT...I first used it in Colorado, the summer of 64 --- last saw it (at over 400,000 miles on the clock) in Los Angeles in the late 70's...engine still ran fine, but the truck was traaaaaaaash!!!

Pat Daly, where are you?

Rod

Ha haha, brother if I can hit 400 thousand I'll be one happy guy, and probably quite ancient at the time. The vibration is only an irritation and I am getting used to it, but....

starspangled:

I have a 95 6BT balancer bolted to my 4BT, and I cant tell much of a difference, but then I dont think the 4BT is objectionable except for the shutdown shake.

I would have to question the effectiveness of a balancer engineered for a inline 6 on a 4 though.

Sorry I couldnt be more help.

No, that's just what I'm after, Pat! Due to strange events I didn't make it in the field of mathematics so never realized my dream of engineering. Because of that I don't understand the exact mechanical forces and harmonics and metalurgy involved. I do know that these balancers dampen certain wave forms that develop in a crankshaft, but don't know if that damping or absorption or conversion of forces works the same with any inline crank, or even with same balancer used on a V configuration crank.