Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Custom Propery Name 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

lucason

Mechanical
Apr 24, 2002
GB
I have hundreds of SolidWorks parts that require approximately 40 identical custom properties adding to each of them. I intend to write the values of these custom properties via a design table.
Does anybody know of an easier way to create the custom properties than to open each part and painstakingly type in each one on each part.
P.S. i have very little API experience but would be glad of a little nudge into it.

Thanking you in anticipation.

Lucas
ON engineering.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Check out Under SolidWorks API Tutorials click Macros/Examples then see Example 7. Then write yourself a Visual Basic 6 program to link the data you type in and SolidWorks.
Also check out this is another good source for Custom Properties Tutorial.
There are several sites on the Internet. Whatever you learn about Visual Basic 6, you will use for other ideas.

There is a program out on the SW website for download.

Custom File Properties - This VB 5.0 program simplifies the task of entering a standard set of custom properties for your models. It will allow you to create or modify a standard set custom properties for a the active SolidWorks document. This program is easily customizable to a users specific needs using VB5.0 or VB 6.0. WE ahve used to with success.

This is found under subscription support, model library, API, general utilities. If you do not have subscription support I could send it to you.
BBJT CSWP