Design of concrete slab at the bottom of braced excavation 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

HanStrulo

Civil/Environmental
Apr 16, 2021
CA
Hi Everyone,

I am new to earth retaining structures and I am working on the design of a braced excavation with a sheet pile, wales and a concrete slab at the bottom.

The concrete slab will have a lateral earth pressure load on it and needs to resist it. order of magnitude is about 400KN/m.

How do you guys design the concrete slab? is there a specific way for doing it in a braced excavation? is it the same as slab on grade? is it a one way slab? two ways?

Thanks alot for your input.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

the water table is 3 below below grade and the excavation is 9 m below. so the water table is in the bottom of excavation.

Ok, I hope you are working with an engineer experienced in this type work, it is not for beginners... and 9 meters is pretty deep. The structural aspects and the geotechnical aspects along with construction techniques are interrelated and blend together. You need to be well versed in all three. For example, the slab you are working on may have to simultaneously:

1) Resist lateral pressure on the sheeting (pressure from both earth and hydrostatic)

2) Prevent flotation from hydrostatic uplift of the dewatered excavation.

3) Be a foundation for whatever goes in the excavation.

Design of slab can depend on all of these factors, and there are not hard and fast answers.

In the most general terms, you will need a good idea of what the ground water's potential rate of flow into the dewatered excavation will be:

1) If it is "slow", may be possible to dewater the area (as, or before, excavation begins) with pumps or well points (although vacuum well points are limited to a practical lift of about 7 or 8 meters). This will allow the slab to be designed in a more or less conventional manner.