Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Design Rates 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

iumcad

Mechanical
Jan 23, 2007
US
This may not be the proper forum but I will post anyway; there seems to be many of my type in this forum! I will be starting my own design service within the next three months and was wondering if anyone would care to share what the average hourly rates are for mechanical (primarily machine) design these days. From what I have gathered the rate for full blown 3D design sits right around $60, detailing $40, and checking $25-30. Does this even sound accurate? I have 12 years of experience in design of dies, tools, jigs, fixtures, and specialty automation machinery primarily for the automotive industry and have decided to make more out of my time put in. I am a veteran Autodesk user and got sucked into the Inventor world but have decided on Solidworks for my design service. I wont go into the whole Inv vs Sldwks war. I went to the 3D skills seminar and I am taking the 2006 personal edition test drive. Its frustrating trying to learn at such a fast pace, but I think Solidworks has the upper hand; there has to be a reason why its so popular in mechanical design; plus my primary customer uses it and this weighed heavily in my decision.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

The numbers you wrote seem about right. But, they will adjust as you go depending on your expertise, quality, customers, etc.
The others here that have their own business will know more.

Chris
SolidWorks 06 5.1/PDMWorks 06
AutoCAD 06
ctopher's home (updated 01-18-07)