design thinking training 4

Status
Not open for further replies.

subsearobot

Mechanical
Jan 19, 2007
US
Hi all!
My employer is urging me to train in Design Thinking. I am a skilled ME, and I greatly prefer to work in technical areas. The employer has urged me to move into a (project) management track- to which I have declined several times.

but they keep offering me non-technical training. now, it's design thinking.

I am an innovator, a creator, and I am very good at it. I *need* to make stuff- I am one of those obsessed engineers that makes stuff all weekend long in my personal fab-lab. I am terrible with project schedules, and quite frankly, I am at my job to increase my technical experience and skill level. I have been engineering for about 15 years. I've also worked in manual labor, on ships, and even in public service in previous careers. I am good with people, and relatively charismatic. I say this because it seems Design Thinking may utilize these soft skills.

So the ask:
have you used design thinking? Do you know any engineers that have done it?
does DT feel like engineering? what are your thoughts?

thanks!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Advocates of Design Thinking will probably argue with me here, claiming it to be so much more but in my opinion Design Thinking is just product design wrapped up in a fancy title with numbered stages so experts can sell a unique, nicely packaged 'information product'. Don't get me wrong, there is value in its process and some golden nuggets in there but it is the same design method that successful designers have been using for centuries, DT just defines it in particular stages with nice labels.