Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Determining necessary oil flow volume for main and rod bearings 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

racinvrxse

Automotive
Oct 20, 2011
US
Is there a way to determine the amount of flow volume needed if you know what your HP, RPM, journal diameter, etc?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

There is. It's a fairly esoteric branch of tribology, and the main topic headings are hydrodynamic bearings or hydrodynamic lubrication.
It's been too long ago since I studied that to be any direct help, but I'd be surprised if there isn't a forum on Eng-tips that has a few experts on the subject.
In addition to the variables you listed, you will need to know the bearing clearance, oil viscosity (at max operating temperature), effective bearing width (taking into account grooves), peak normal loading, and probably the available oil feed pressure to the bearing, though that could be considered an output variable, i.e. required feed pressure.

the flow needed is in fact determined by two parameters.

first the geometry of the bearing set up: you need at least a flow that is sufficient to keep the crankshaft and the bearing surfaces separated - a fluid film thus sufficiently thick that the unevenness of the surfaces is "filled with fluid" and then a little more - a filmthickness of 35 micron or more usually is sufficient. the flow you need in fact needs to be just a little more then the leakage that occurs.

a second consideration is bearing temperature. since the oil is used to carry away the heat generated in the bearing (hopefully only the result of fluid friction and not of contact between shaft and bearings) you will keep the temperature of the outflowing oil within reasonable limits. a ingoing temperature of about 100 deg C and a outgoing temperature of say 175 deg can be used as a starting point.