Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

diesel vs gas

Status
Not open for further replies.

Toddr8541

Mechanical
Sep 26, 2011
US
has anyone done a comparison or know what the differences in cylinder press and cylinder temps on a diesel engine vs SI engine of comparable size?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I am a engineer. I am not looking for a detailed report on the differences with temp and pressure graphs. All I am asking for, is if someone has experience with both types of engines to say engines of comperable size and power rating. ie: "Diesel cylinder pressures are about 10 to 15% higher and temps are about 20-30% higher."

I am familiar with gas engines but never took the time to investigate diesel engines. This question was more for curiosity than anything else. I don't know enough about diesel engines to know if there are any comporable sized engines( same size and power rating).

Theoritically for the same size engine, with same bore and stroke temps and pressure should be the same. However, diesels use the compression to ignite the feul. So does the diesels have slightly pressures for the same engine or are they significantly higher? Also if the diesel is smaller to make the same power of a larger gas engine, is it the increased pressure from compression ignition that allows the bore to be smaller.

Are the same pressures seen in the cylinder because the diesel feul reguires more compression pressure to ignite it and the gas engine just simply does the same by using a spark.

Again this was meant for general discussion. Not a specific project im working on and don't need the pressure and temp graphs.