Disconcerting info on company found out. Interview very soon. 6

Status
Not open for further replies.

mbpierce

Mechanical
Jul 15, 2004
US
Long time reader. First time poster.

A little background: I've been looking for my first permanent job in a certain area of NC for a few months since graduating in May (BSME). I've got close to 2 years in co-op experience as a design engineer with a major outfit (who I'm still with on a temporary basis until I find permanent employment) and a fair amount of UG experience for an entry level prospect.

One of our marketing guys here deals a lot with a company that I'm scheduled to interview with on Monday. He actually made a trip to their facility yesterday and during a regular conversation with someone he mentioned his chat with myself about interviewing there. The other person informed him that there have been 8 engineers to quit in the last 2 months because of a new engineering manager and that the position that I'm interview for must be to replace some of those guys. And one thing that makes me believe so is there are 6 listings on Monster for different engineering positions with this company.

So my dilemma is that I can take a whole day off of work and just listen to what they have to say. Or just bow out now and not waste my time or theirs. I'm on the fence here, but leaning towards heading up there. I've really got nothing to lose but money out of the deal though.

Questions, comments, words of wisdom?

Thanks

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Go to the interview, for practice if nothing else. There could be any number of reasons for mass exodus, maybe the new manager expects everyone to work and their old manager didn't.

mbpierce,

If you do go, and I suggest that you do just for the interview experience, I would question the manager about why there are six positions on Monster (knowing that 8 engineers have quit in the last 2 months). You will gain valuable insight from his/her answer (BS or truth).