Dispersion analysis or study 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

engr2GW

Petroleum
Nov 7, 2010
US
Hello,

I am looking for on direction on how to do a dispersion analysis; for PSV relief (or tank hatch). Intent is to incoporate this into spacing of equipment and possible ignition source.
Any rule of thumb, document/standard/code, or general direction to start from?

Thank you.

As much as possible, do it right the first time...

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I'm no expert on dispersion analysis, but with regard to a Pressure-relief valve, are you looking for a flow rate that a PRV will give? or how to size a PRV ?

*** Per ISO-4126, the generic term 'Safety Valve' is used regardless of application or design ***

*** 'Pressure-relief Valve' is the equivalent ASME/API term ***

Dispersion analysis is based off the flow rate, velocity, density, weight of fluid, discharge location (elevation, surroundings) and wind conditions. It's not the sort of thing you can guestimate with a rule of thumb.

In the past we've hired consultants to perform dispersion analysis. I would recommend the same approach if you don't have access and expertise in the programs used to perform the analysis.

Thanks for the reply @The Obturator,
I am familiar with sizing a relief valve, my question is with respect to discharge of flammable vapor/gas in relation to possible ignition source.
NOTE: These are all relief valves that are relieving to the atmosphere and there are no equipment above the relief valve, just open space

As much as possible, do it right the first time...

OK. You may want to consider information contained in API-521 which provides information on the causes of overpressure and methods of calculating the flow. This incudes fire cases. Probably for what your looking for, is within Section 5 on Disposal Systems and fluid affects etc. That info might help you.

*** Per ISO-4126, the generic term 'Safety Valve' is used regardless of application or design ***