Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Dispute Resolution/Improper Compaction Testing 4

Status
Not open for further replies.

Captain37

Civil/Environmental
Dec 30, 2008
US
Hello all, I am a heavy/highway contractor and I am preparing a DRB Response. My claim is that the owner project representative improperly tested compaction on embankment we were building in order to cause false negatives (failures). This caused my co. to incur considerable monetary damage. I know that procedure is critical when using a moisture density gauge, but my question is: How critical??? Note: The inspector did not perform proctors on half of the tests taken when the owners specifications outline the specific procedure to follow.....??? Thanks everyone!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

There are ASTM and perhaps AASHTO (for your site) standards that apply to this form of testing. Before you go too far, I'd bring on board an experienced geotechnical engineer (even though you may be well experienced) and develops a program as if you were going into court It may be a good idea to bring on a lawyer, but be sure he (she) is construction experienced.

I suspect that a nuke gage was used on the job (the lazy way to get a lot of test data) and many swear by that. However, the standards tell how you calibrate that against known acceptable testing methods to be sure the work is done right.

There is another current thread getting extensive remarks (It may be in the "testing" room). They deal with this general subject and there are several experts there.

The only thing I would add about using the sand-cone method for calibration of the nuke, would be that the sand cone size has to be the large size (I believe it is 8" diameter), since that method also can have errors and you need a goodly large test sample to minimize those errors.